The climate of India may be broadly described as tropical monsoon type.

There are four seasons:

  • Winter (January-February)
  • Hot weather summer (March-May)
  • Rainy southwestern monsoon (June-September) and
  • Post-monsoon, also known as northeast monsoon in the southern Peninsula (October-December)

India's climate is affected by two seasonal winds - the northeast monsoon and the southwest monsoon. The north-east monsoon, commonly known as winter monsoon blows from land to sea, whereas south-west monsoon, known as summer monsoon blows from sea to land after crossing the Indian Ocean, the Arabian Sea, and the Bay of Bengal. The south-west monsoon brings most of the rainfall during a year in the country.